top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamm Musick

Boomer

Do you ever wonder if your dog is a human trapped in a dog body? Boomer is like that! No, really. He has these brown eyes and when he looks at you, you feel like he's looking straight into your soul. Boomer is going to be 8years old on May 10th, 2021. My girls and I wanted a dog and we saw a lady one day with the cutest puppy. We asked and she told us he was an AussieDoodle and she gave us the name of the breeder in Gatlinburg, TN. We were on a mission! We packed up the car and headed to Gatlinburg, they had ONE left! Driving through those beautiful Tennessee hills we had no idea the adventure that was before us! That adventure had a name and it was...."Pluto"....hmmmm. Didn't seem quite right we all thought. Boomer! Yes this adventure is called Boomer! And what an adventure it has been!


This was him a few months old.



Boomer really is an amazing dog. He is half Poodle and half Australian Shepherd so he is really smart and full of energy! I call him the most runningawayist dog ever. Haha. We learned early on that Boomer was an adventure dog. Every chance he got he would bolt through the door and just keep running! We were at my folks lake house and he got out and didn't come back for hours! We searched everywhere on the island. When we found him he was sitting on the back porch probably wondering where we all went, haha. He had gotten into a dead fish and he smelled for days! Another time, he ran away from our home in Spring Hill, TN and went down the main highway all the way to his boarders house and sat on the front porch. He missed his friends, lol. His sense of direction is freakishly amazing. But no matter where he went on his adventures he always found his way back home.


Another wonderful thing about Boomer is his care for my daughters. Every night he goes from room to room and checks in with each girl. He may nuzzle them or lay with them for a little, and then he goes on to the next girl. It's just the sweetest thing. But the most amazing thing about Boomer is his constant love and forgiveness. There have been times where I wasn't in the best mood and I might yell at him or scold him (he does get into mischief on the regular) or I might be working on the farm and accidentally run into him (he likes being close, lol) and I'll say, "Oh hey buddy, are you ok?" and immediately he will wag his tail and come close for a pat on the head. I think he knows I am sorry when these things happen and he also knows the tone shift in my voice and that I'm there with affection, so he comes close, tail wagging, as if to say "I know, and it's ok."


The loyalty of dogs is a truly an amazing design. Boomer is consistent. Even more than me. He always greets me in the morning with a nuzzle ready to play fetch. He stays by my side constantly and is most generous with kisses. There have been times when I am sad or lonely and Boomer is right there ready to cheer me up. I know he has helped my girls get through so many things. He is our constant companion and confidant, always loving and reminding us that no matter what, tomorrow is a new day, full of adventure! We love you buddy! This one's for you!




118 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page