top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamm Musick

Field Of Gypsies

Updated: Jan 22, 2021

Near the end of 2012 I moved from Pensacola, FL to Los Angeles. My goal was to help a friend in LA write his new record, do some acting, and build a new band called Field Of Gypsies or F.O.G. While I lived in LA I did do some acting and lots of writing but the band never happened. I wound up moving back to Nashville in April of 2013. I still had a vision for FOG but I wound up writing and performing Americana Folk music under the Moniker 'Cole Washburn' for about 4 years. At some point a scripture caught my eye that reminded me of the vision God had given me. It was Isaiah 4:5-6


"Then the Lord will create over all of Mount Zion and over those who assemble there a cloud of smoke by day and a glow of flaming fire by night; over everything the glory will be a canopy. It will be a shelter and shade from the heat of the day, and a refuge and hiding place from the storm and rain."


This scripture made me think of God's presence being that cloud of smoke by day and glowing fire by night. As Moses said, "If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here." (Exodus 33:15). I knew that the only way that anything like this was possible was if God led the way with His Presence. And so the name FOG worked well when I thought about God's presence being like a FOG or Smoke filling the place where we worshipped. Originally the idea of FOG was to play hippy jam band music and gather free spirited Deadheads and Potheads and people who are often overlooked or judged harshly by the evangelical church. I wanted to gather them and play music and then just nonchalantly invite the Holy Spirit to come and see what happened.


About a year ago I was at my kids church in Champaign, IL. We were worshipping and I suddenly saw a powerful vision. Jesus took me up on the ridge of a bowl shaped valley and he raised my arm like I had just won a major boxing championship. And I looked out and saw a sea of people all cheering and Jesus spoke to me and said "These people are the fruit of your ministry, of your life on earth." I was blown away! I came back home to Nashville and wrote a song for my band (KOTE) called "Face to Face" that basically translates the vision God had given me into song form. We had nearly 300,000 play on Spotify and then suddenly Spotify took it down. I was horrified, hurt, frustrated.


It took me some time to re-group. I went through a little depression and a lot of frustration knowing that a company like Spotify can just "cancel" my music at any point in time. So I canceled my Spotify membership and took all of my bands music off of Spotify.

Then, this past weekend it happened again. I was worshipping at my kids church and I saw another vision. This time I was here on earth and before me was a huge crowd all worshipping God. I realized that this is what God was calling me to. To sing his songs and to lead this generation in worship, to allow his presence to come and transform lives.


So, with this new conviction, I came home and bought the website www.fieldofgypsies.com and started an Instagram page www.instagram.com/field_of_gypsies


Today I built the website for FOG, I created a logo and built a social interaction feature called "Foggers". I'm really excited about this calling God has placed on my heart and resurrected from a vision he originally gave me nearly 10 years ago. But this vision has expanded. Now I see this as not only people gathered to worship but also everyone bringing their instruments and playing with us! I also see relationships being born from these events. I see home groups, drum circles, worship circles, people coming together in loving authentic community. I can't wait to see what all God does!


Please, if you have a few moments, go check out the website and follow on Instagram.

You can go there easily by clicking the links below.

I hope someday you will join us as we experience the goodness of God in worship!





Recent Posts

See All

Dreams

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page